Le Vieux Donjon Chateauneuf-du-Pape 2006

Wine: Le Vieux Donjon Chateauneuf-du-Pape 2006

Price: $64.99

Region: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, France

Grape Variety: 70% Grenache, 20% Syrah, 10% Mourvedre & Cinsault

Purchased: Surdyk’s Wine & Liquor, Minneapolis, MN

This was our second bottle of Chateauneuf-du-Pape, and our first experience with Vieux Donjon.  I found it – once again – through Surdyk’s in Minneapolis, and while it’s a little expensive (okay, a lot) for an everyday wine, it seemed like it would be nice for a special occasion.  I feel confident in saying that I hit that one on the head!  I knew this would be a big, strong wine and so we decanted the bottle for 30 minutes before we enjoyed our first sip.  It would have been great to have a swallow of the wine beforehand, as a control sample, but I wasn’t smart enough to do that.  Regardless, it was supple and smooth and fantastic so I’m going to say I made the right decision.  Upon pouring, the wine had a deep ruby coloring.  We spent some time sampling the nose, and the first word out of Cathy’s mouth was “leather”.  I had to agree, and I added “musk” as well.  It was a complex and very pleasing union of leather and black cherry, with a mineral undertone of slate that made this wine extremely interesting.  The finish was smooth and wonderful, and lingered for several minutes.  We agreed that the wine was dry, in the best possible way, and it paired wonderfully with a meal of veal Osso Buco.  It was a fantastic wine, and we’d enjoy another bottle in a heartbeat.

3 Responses to Le Vieux Donjon Chateauneuf-du-Pape 2006

  1. Great writeup, please keep them coming!

  2. Cathy says:

    I agree, we should try that taste test next time.

  3. Peggy says:

    Count me in for the next taste test! 😉 We have a relatively new wine store down here called Total Wine & More that has over 8,000 different wines. I’m sure they’d have this one, but it’s a little out of my price range.

Leave a Reply

