Pork Roast with Whiskey Sauce

pork-roast-with-whiskey-sauce

I’ve nominated this as the best pork roast we’ve ever made in our humble kitchen.  The meat was succulent and tender, and as juicy as I’ve ever tasted.  It’s a slow-cooker recipe, so as the day went on the pleasant aroma of the whiskey sauce continued to build, teasing our noses.  As we sat down to enjoy, we knew that all the waiting would be worthwhile.  I was especially pleased with the combination of the Dijon mustard and the Jack Daniels, which perfectly accented the flavor of the roast.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Medium onion, peeled and sliced
  • 3-1/2 pounds, boneless port butt, rinsed and patted dry
  • 1 Tbsp Montreal steak seasoning, McCormick Grill Mates
  • 3 Tbsp frozen orange juice concentrate
  • 1/2 Cup Jack Daniels Whiskey
  • 2 Tbsp salt-free citrus herb seasoning, Spice Islands
  • 1/4 cup Dijon mustard, Grey Poupon

Preparation:

Place onion in a 5-quart slow cooker.

Season all sides of port butt with Montreal steak seasoning.  Place in slow cooker on top of onions, fat side up.

In a small bowl, stir together remaining ingredients.  Pour over pork roast.  Cover and cook on LOW setting for 8 to 10 hours.

Strain and defat cooking liquid.  Serve as sauce on the side.

4 Responses to Pork Roast with Whiskey Sauce

  1. Anna says:

    Oh, my stars that sounds good. This I must make. Thank you!

  2. Nate says:

    Hi Anna, thanks for stopping by! This was very, very tasty. My wife is a fan of slow cooker recipes, and we made sure this one received a star in the cookbook. I highly recommend it!

  3. Mom says:

    I was going to make pork roast for dinner last night but after looking at this I thought, why bother? Looks delicious!!

  4. Nate says:

    Hmm, and my real purpose was to make it look so good that you’d WANT to make it… I’m going to to have to work on my persuasive writing skills!

Leave a Reply

