Asparagus Bacon and Onion Thin Crust Pizza

Asparagus Bacon and Onion Thin Crust Pizza

We’re pizza people.

This is not breaking news, to us or anyone who knows us.  We like pizza, homemade pizza.  There was a time when Papa John’s and Pizza Hut sounded pretty good to us, but now we’ve gotten the science of the thin crust down.  I won’t say perfected, because that’d be a little too much, but I am willing to say that we know our way around the baking stone.  Tonight’s dinner was case in point.  My lovely bride asked me to put together an asparagus and prosciutto thin crust, like I’ve done many times before.  Our only problem was the lack of prosciutto in the fridge.  No matter, there were several slices of bacon left over from an excellent strata we tried a little ways back, and they just seemed to cry out to me.  (Admission:  bacon is always crying out to me, and I rarely refuse.  That’s why we can’t have it in the house.)  Nevertheless, I knew the bacon would complement the asparagus nicely, and at the last minute I decided that thinly sliced onion would make the whole thing complete.  It was an easy pick, and in the end we were rewarded with an incredible combination.  Every flavor seemed to jump out at us, so distinct and sharp.  You’d do well to try this one yourself!

Ingredients

  • 1 Thin Pizza Crust
  • 2 cups asparagus spears
  • 5 strips thick cut bacon
  • 1 cup thinly sliced onion
  • 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 cup asiago cheese, shredded
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • kosher salt
  • freshly ground pepper

Preparation

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Roll out pizza dough with rolling pin to form crust approximately 15 inches in diameter.  With fork, lighly tap the dough over entire surface.  This will prevent unnecessarily large bubbles from forming in the crust during the baking process.

Use pizza peel or equivalent to slide crust onto baking stone in heated oven.  Bake for 12 minutes, until crust begins to brown on top.

While crust is baking, cut asparagus into 1 inch lengths.  Bring small amount of water to boil in pan.  Add asparagus and cover, allow to simmer for 3-4 minutes.  Remove asparagus from pan, and rinse with ice-cold water to prevent it from cooking further.

Wipe pan clean, and fry bacon until desired crispness.  Remove from pan, and allow to rest on paper towels.  When cooled, chop bacon roughly into bite-sized pieces.

When crust has finished baking remove from oven.  Flip over, and continue preparation.

Pour extra virgin olive oil on crust, and brush until the entire surface is covered with oil.  This will tend to bring out the golden brown colors of the baked crust.  Sprinkle salt and freshly cracked pepper over the entire surface.  This adds a wonderful flavor, so be generous with the oil, salt and pepper.

Sprinkle the shredded mozzarella evenly over the surface of the crust.  Repeat with the asparagus, onion and bacon.  Finish by sprinkling the shredded asiago cheese evenly over the top.

Bake on pizza stone for an additional 10-12 minutes, until cheese is lightly browned.

Remove from oven, and let pizza sit for five minutes, allowing the cheese and toppings to settle.  Slice, and serve.

5 Responses to Asparagus Bacon and Onion Thin Crust Pizza

  1. Cathy says:

    Mmmm….just looking at that picture makes my mouth water. You really could taste all of the individual flavors in this pizza. I didn’t think anything could “top” my proscuitto & asparagus favorite, but this was definitely one that I’d eat again and again.

  2. Nate says:

    And that from a little girl who wasn’t sure she wanted bacon on her pizza! Trust!

  3. sister2u says:

    Since you mentioned pizza, I have to tell you about a recipe for pizza bianca I made over the weekend. It uses alfredo sauce as the white sauce. Granted, I am not quite the chef you are and I used Boboli (actually found the recipe on boboli.com) but it was fabulous! Chicken, portabello mushrooms, yellow squash, red onion, red pepper and Italian cheese top it off. Try a white sauce next time in your wonderful creations!

  4. Nate says:

    Don’t say you’re not a chef. You’ve mentioned some pretty tasty dishes in posts gone by. As regards Boboli, that’s good stuff as well. I know I’ve seen recipes for homemade Boboli, and that’s on my list for future attempts. The texture and taste are great. Now I’m hungry!

  5. sister2u says:

    Thanks for the kind words. I’m not too bad in the kitchen as long as I have a recipe to follow. hee hee. Someday you and June will have to make it down here and let me entertain you as you have done for me.

    BTW, why are you avatar-less? Does Plankton not carry over to this blog?

Leave a Reply

