Rutherford Ranch Cabernet Sauvignon 2005

Wine:  Rutherford Ranch Cabernet Sauvignon 2005

Price: $12.49

Region: Napa Valley, CA

Grape Variety: Cabernet Sauvignon

Purchased: Surdyk’s, Minneapolis, MN

This was our second go-round with this particular wine, and in reviewing my notes our experience was very consistent.  The color was a deep ruby red, beautiful as we swirled it in the glass for our first taste.  The nose had a definite dark cherry feel, although it seemed there was something more.  I very much need to increase my wine vocabulary so that I can better describe the sensation, but I can honestly say it held my interest because it wasn’t completely straightforward.  The taste was much the same.  An initial sip yielded cherries and perhaps a little raspberry.  As we rolled it about on the tongue we found leather and a medium level of tannin.  The finish was fairly lengthy, and slowly warmed over time.  My overall impression was of a well-crafted wine with a substantial amount of body.  The feel varied a bit from first sip to the finish, and I greatly enjoyed the complexity.  The price was right, as we received approximately 30% discount when purchasing this wine through the Surdyk’s Fall 2007 wine sale.  It’s a great value, and I’ll definitely seek more bottles for my modest collection.

One Response to Rutherford Ranch Cabernet Sauvignon 2005

  1. Pingback: Cabernet-Braised Beef Short Ribs « Savory Thoughts

Leave a Reply

